Queens Dems Voter Guide

Voter Guide for June 25 Democratic Primary

With early voting beginning in just over two weeks for the 2024 Democratic Primary, we've been talking to many of you about what to expect on the ballot. We're hearing time and time again that the people want to vote for good, true-blue Democrats.

That is why the Democratic Organization of Queens has come together to support a fantastic set of candidates in this year's primaries that reflect our communities and are ready to fight for residents, families, small buissenesses, workers, and everyone that believes in making the world a better place and calls Queens their home.

This slate represents Queens better than any other combination out there. What you'll find below is a set of candidates that represent the most committed activists, experienced community leaders, and dedicated organizers our community has ever seen. From every corner of Queens, we have brought together candidates of the many backgrounds, ethnicities, nationalities, genders, sexual orientations, religions, and uprbinging to help make the world a better place.

We're proud to stand by these candidates and work together here in Queens to fight for progress. Join us in supporthing these candidates on June 25!

Queens Surrogate's Court Judge

Cassandra A. Johnson

Cassandra A. Johnson is a lifelong Queens resident, and has built her life’s work around helping others. She began her judicial career as a Civil Court Judge in Queens County, a Court known as the People’s Court; where I presided over various civil matters, including jury and bench trials and many cases involving self-represented litigants. Her focus and intent has always been to be fair, impartial and compassionate while following the rule of law. As a jurist,  I am committed to ensuring that people are heard, have equitable outcomes, and feel that the system works for the people of Queens. Growing up in a household where her mom was and remains an accomplished and successful attorney, she had an example of what to strive for, and hopes to be a similar example to girls and women in Queens. 

Currently, she serves Queens as a Justice of the Supreme Court, where she presides over a general civil part, which includes matters involving real estate transactions, contracts, labor law, premises liability, motor vehicle accidents, foreclosures and general negligence. A lot of this work has prepared her for the next step in my journey to serve, as she runs for the position of Surrogate’s Court judge. 

Read more here, on Cassandra A. Johnson's website. 

Judge of the Civil Court Judge

This year is a bit different than most when voting for Judge of the Civil Court. You'll see four (4) options and will be to vote for any two (2).
The two candidates below were the only candidates to be endorsed by the Democratic Organization of Queens County.

Sharifa Nasser-Cuellar

Sharifa Milena Nasser-Cuéllar is a first-generation Colombian American and an accomplished attorney who has spent nearly 20 years fiercely advocating for the people of Queens. Her career has soared over the years, and she has practiced and litigated in the areas of matrimonial, family and criminal law. Sharifa demonstrates adeptness when trying complex matrimonial and family court cases that are often emotional and delicate situations for families.a dedicated public servant and longtime Queens resident, is a candidate for Judge of the Civil Court in Queens. A seasoned attorney, Sharifa is unwavering in her commitment to equal justice under the law for all. As a true daughter of Queens, Sharifa will serve the diverse and resilient communities of Queens with fairness, integrity, and excellence.

Read more here, on Sharifa Nasser-Cuellar's website.

Amish Doshi

Amish has been a resident of Queens County for over 40 years and has been active in the community professionally and civically. Amish, along with his mom and brother, immigrated to the United States from India at the age of 10 after the sudden passing of his father. They settled in Forest Hills, Queens, and his mother worked tirelessly to provide Amish and his brother an opportunity at the American Dream. Amish witnessed firsthand the sacrifice and dedication of his mother, which laid the foundation for who Amish is today.

Amish journey to running for Queens County Civil Court is the epitome of the story of Queens. From being raised by a single mother who immigrated to the United States from India to working his way through law school, Amish represents the struggle faced by the residents of Queens. His work experience and commitment to his community positions him as the most qualified candidate.

 Read more here, on Amish Doshi' website.

Elections by Assembly District 

We have several different Assembly Districts in Queens and many of them have contests this coming Primary Day.
Find the list of Queens Dems-endorsed candidates for your Assembly District below, and have confidence when going into the polls. If you're not sure which district you are in, you can check online at the BOE website here. 

New York State Assembly


Larinda Hooks for Assembly District 35 

Johanna Carmona for Assembly District 37

Ron Kim for Assembly District 40

District Leaders


Endorsed Candidate

28 Part B Matthew M. Mandell (M)
28 Part B  Sandra S. Mandell (F)
34 Part B Andres Y. Vargas (M)
34 Part B  Monica V. Valdes (F)
35 Part A Fleetwood Henery (M)
35 Part A Shanel Thomas Henry (F)
35 Part B Michelle Dunston (F)
35 Part B Jose Morillo (M)
39 Part B Alfonso Quiroz (M)
39 Part B Ari Espinal (F)

State Committee


Our candidate

28th AD Edwin K. Wong (M)
28th AD  Denise D. Rachnaev (F)
34th AD Michael G. DenDekker (M)
 34th AD Ellen Raffaele (F)
36th AD Mohammed N. Haque (M)
36th AD Heather Ann Cortes (F)

Judicial Delegate


Our Candidate

Del. to Judicial Convention - 28 AD Karen Koslowitz
  Matthew M. Mandell
  Ronnie Croce
  Sheryl Ann Fetik
  Edwin K. Wong
  Sandra S. Mandell
  David Aronov
  Diana Rachnaev